Mega Millions Fever Grows As More Than 1.4 Million Tickets Win

RELEASE DATE: 4/29/2009

The hottest ticket in the nation is Mega Millions.  There was no jackpot winner in Tuesday’s Mega Millions drawing, so Americans woke up to a jackpot that’s bulging at an estimated $220 million for the Friday, May 1, drawing.
       
A total of 1,411,462 tickets across the nation won prizes in the Tuesday, April 28, Mega Millions drawing.  That includes 12 tickets that each won $250,000 and 90 tickets that each won $10,000.*

The winning numbers were 15-20-24-36-44 and the Mega Ball number was 6.

Those 12 tickets came within a heartbeat of winning the jackpot by matching the first five numbers and only missing the Mega Ball number.  Those tickets were sold in California (3), Massachusetts (1), New Jersey (3), New York (2), Ohio (1) and Texas (2).
       
This jackpot has been growing since March 13, when Mega Millions had its most recent jackpot winner. The jackpot has now rolled 13 times without a winner. The odds of winning the jackpot are approximately one in 176 million. The odds of winning any of the Mega Millions prizes are approximately 1 in 40.
       
Mega Millions is played in 12 states: California, Georgia, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Texas, Virginia and Washington.

Mega Millions drawings are held Tuesdays and Fridays at 11:00 p.m. Eastern time, 10:00 p.m. Central time and 8:00 p.m. Pacific time. 


* Prize amounts in California are paid on a pari-mutuel basis and will differ from the fixed prize amounts shown here.