More Than 1.1 Million Winning Tickets In Mega Millions Drawing

RELEASE DATE: 8/15/2009

Everything is getting bigger in Mega Millions: the jackpot, the number of winners, and above all, the excitement.  With nine different ways to win, a total of 1,181,832 tickets from coast to coast were winners in Friday’s drawing.  Since no ticket matched all six numbers, the jackpot for the Tuesday, August 18 drawing grows to an estimated $170 million.
     
The winning numbers in Friday’s drawing were: 8-22-25-33-35 and the Mega Ball number was 46.
     
You can’t come closer to winning the jackpot than the 23 tickets that matched the first five numbers and only missed the Mega Ball number.  Those tickets were purchased in California (3), Georgia (1), Illinois (1), Michigan (1), New Jersey (7), New York (5), Ohio (4) and Virginia (1).
     
This jackpot has been growing since July 7, when Mega Millions had its most recent jackpot winner. The jackpot has now rolled 11 times without a winner. The odds of winning the jackpot are approximately one in 176 million. The odds of winning any of the Mega Millions prizes are approximately 1 in 40.
     
Mega Millions is played in 12 states: California, Georgia, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Texas, Virginia and Washington.

Mega Millions drawings are held Tuesdays and Fridays at 11:00 PM Eastern Time, 10:00 PM Central Time and 8:00 PM Pacific Time.